Special Education

Our Special Education Department recognizes and supports the importance of individualizing the educational experience to meet the unique needs of each student. SSVT has a team of professionals to assist students with both their educational and emotional needs. Our staff are committed to monitoring student progress while promoting growth and success in both their academic and vocational classes.

Katie Berry Director of Special Education kberry@ssvotech.org
Tracy Perakslis Special Education Administrative Assistant tperakslis@ssvotech.org

Service Providers
Angela Pierce Speech and Language Pathologist tbd
Rick Skeffington School Psychologist rskeffington@ssvotech.org
Michelle Snyder Adjustment Counselor msnyder@ssvotech.org

Teachers
Gerry Bova   gbova@ssvotech.org
Erin Brennan   ebrennan@ssvotech.org
Minnie Doherty   mdoherty@ssvotech.org
Michael Mahoney   mmahoney@ssvotech.org
Susan Mathisen   smathisen@ssvotech.org
Jessica Matthews   tbd

Paraprofessionals
Nancy Angellis   nangellis@ssvotech.org
Lisa Bellantoni   lbellantoni@ssvotech.org
Mark Lenehan   mlenehan@ssvotech.org
Meaghan Swartz   mswartz@ssvotech.org

Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC)

The Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC) is a volunteer organization whose mission is to work towards the understanding of respect, support and appropriate education for all children with special needs and learning differences in our community.

The purpose is to establish a support network among parents, including access to relevant information, regulations and laws, and resources for training. The SEPAC explores opportunities for parents, teachers and other school personnel to participate in joint training to foster mutual understanding.

All are welcome to attend our meetings!

For more information, please email kberry@ssvotech.org

SEPAC Meetings

An informational flyer will be mailed home prior to each meeting

Meeting

Agenda

  • Open House
    October 14, 2017 @ 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
    South Shore Regional Vocational Technical School

    Open House

  • SEPAC meeting
    October 26, 2017 @ 4:30 pm - 5:00 pm
    Guidance Conference Room

    Basic Rights Presentation

  • SEPAC Meeting
    February 1, 2018 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
    Guidance Conference Room

    Transition Planning - College and Career Planning