Social Studies

socialStudies-header

Program Outline

The goal of the Social Studies Department at SSVT is to engage our students in understanding the history of the world in which we live. In addition, our department teaches history through skill-based learning that emphasizes reading, writing, and critical thinking. The department also incorporates 21st Century Skills including Global Awareness and Economic, Civic, and Environmental Literacy.

Our approach is to teach for greater historical understanding, using a variety of methods to elicit each student’s interpretation and insight in looking at past events. SSVT believes this will help to make graduates more well-rounded, productive, and better grounded in the world we live in today. To create active and more engaged citizens, the department focuses on U.S. History and Modern World History.

If you have any more specific questions, please contact Ms. Keith, the Social Studies Department Head, at akeith@ssvotech.org or 781-878-8822 x103.

socialStudies-courseDesc

Teachers Position Email Room
Annie Keith Social Studies Dept. Head akeith@ssvotech.org 103
Craig Davis Social Studies  cdavis@ssvotech.org 105
Gerard Bova Social Studies gbova@ssvotech.org 206A
Brian Chamberlain Social Studies bchamberlain@ssvotech.org 101
Tammie Glass Social Studies tglass@ssvotech.org 101
Michael Mahoney Math/Social Studies mmahoney@ssvotech.org 124